The 10 Countries You Probably Won’t Remember

Thousands of towns, cities and even countries have disappeared over the years; few people remember them and none remember them all; it’s impossible. Borders have been reworked, due to change in power or legislation. In the last one hundred years, the majority of these countries disappeared as the result of political reworkings and a changing global climate.

These great nations were conquered and fell to invaders; over the course of a century, these nations have transformed to become something completely different than what they were when first conquered. Is that a positive aspect, or not, we’re not the ones to comment on that. But we will reveal to you 10 countries you will probably forget ever existed, soon enough.

10. Ottoman Empire

Ottoman Empire

The Ottoman Empire, which was also known as the Turkish Empire, lasted for centuries. It was started in the year 1300 CE and existed until 1923. During those 600 years, the Empire grew huge, claiming sections of the present Turkey, Russia, Africa and the Middle East. It was the most powerful during the 16th and 17th centuries. During its time, the Empire controlled vast lands and was at the center of the Eastern and Western world.

9. East Germany and West Germany

East Germany and West Germany

East and West Germany was the center of much strife and political controversy during the 20th century. The areas were divided into two major ideologies, however, when a place opened in the Iron Curtain, East Germans began fleeing into the West. In 1990, the two countries became Germany and merged together, eliminating the infamous divide between them. Called German Reunification, East and West Germany united, as did Berlin.

8. Tibet


Although Tibet is still occupied, it has been altered following China’s invasion in 1950. The country was first created during the 7th century, and lived in relative security for many centuries after. In 1912, the Qing dynasty ceased to exist, and so, Tibet declared independence, though it had no recognition by China to do so.

7. Zanzibar and Tanganyika

Zanzibar and Tanganyika

Zanzibar and Tanganyika were once two separate, autonomous countries that merged in 1964. Tanganyika, located by the Indian Ocean and the African Great Lakes, held its independence from the United Kingdom. This only lasted a couple years however, as it and Zanzibar became Tanzania. Zanzibar still remains as a semi-autonomous region of Tanzania, though it is part of the greater country. Tanzania is part of East Africa and is visited by thousands of tourists each year.

6. Yugoslavia


Yugoslavia was made up of six Socialist Republics, including Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro and Bosnia. Indeed, when it was dissolved, it became Bosnia, Croatia, Macedonia, Serbia, Montenegro and Slovenia. It was called the Kingdom of Yugoslavia in 1929 and remained as such, however, it was invaded by Axis members in 1941. Following this, in 1945, the monarchy in the country was disbanded and renamed the Federal People’s Republic of Yugoslavia.

5. Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR)

Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR)

The USSR was a massive area of land that was divided into 15 new countries when it collapsed. The collapse occurred in 1991 and the new countries that were created included Russia and Ukraine. While it was present, the USSR was a Marxist-Leninist country and was had a single party. It was around from 1922 until its fall. Mikhail Gorbachev was its last Soviet leader, and it was he who ultimately caused the nation to divide.

4. Austria-Hungary


The Austro-Hungarian Empire was created in 1867 but did not last long. The Empire dissolved after WWI due to its defeat. The Empire included Austria, Hungary, as well as part of the Czech Republic, Italy, Poland and Romania. Today, nothing remains of the once mighty Empire except for the resulting countries. If the country had not been defeated in WWI, the results may have been much different.

3. Czechoslovakia


Czechoslovakia was a large country with much power and influence. It was a sovereign state and was in existence from 1918 until 1993. When it was dissolved, it was done so peacefully, and split into two new nations: The Czech Republic and Slovakia. Before it separated into 2 countries, it removed its government peacefully after the Communist movement was being thwarted elsewhere. Then in 1993, it became known as the two aforementioned countries.

2. Burma


Many people are still unsure what to call Burma. Officially, Burma has changed its name to Myanmar, but a lot of countries do not recognize this change. Although it occurred in 1989, countries such as the United States still refer to the country as Burma.

1. Newfoundland


Home to rich biodiversity and stunning views, Newfoundland is one province that many like to visit. Many are shocked to discover though that Newfoundland used to be self governing and existed separately from Canada. From 1907 until 1949, the nation was known as the Dominion of Newfoundland. Following this, it became part of Canada, which makes sense due to its geographic location. Previously to its joining Canada, Newfoundland was a British Dominion.

Countries That May Not Survive The Next 20 Years


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *